top of page


World Test Championship

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced on February 8, 2023 the date for the finals to be held at The Oval this year. India, Australia and South Africa are the main contenders and the upcoming Border-Gavaskar Test series between the Men in Blue and Australia will decide who flies to London for the all-important contest. India will take on Australia in the four-Test series starting on February 9, 2023 in Nagpur.

The WTC (World Test Championship 2023) finals will take place at The Oval, London from June 7 to 11, 2023 after Indian Premier League complete. In view of what last happened in the WTC final in 2021, ICC has also set June 12, 2023 as a reserved day. New Zealand are the defending champions, but they might not even have a chance to defend their title in the final. New Zealand beat India by margin of wickets in 2021 which is played in Southampton.

Australia lead the point table so far in the current cycle with a healthy percentage of 75.56, followed by India at 58.93. That is why the upcoming Border-Gavaskar series is so important for both the teams. The run of results will determine who advances to the finals, which will begin on June 7, 2023. Ahead of the series, Australia captain Pat Cummins revealed how motivated he and his team are to take part in the big event.

South Africa with 48.72 percent and Sri Lanka 53.33 percent, who are in third and fourth place, have a very slim chance of winning. The last two matches of South Africa's schedule are two-match home series against the West Indies, while the Lankans have two away Test matches against New Zealand.

Although it is not yet known who the participants will be, several important matches will take place around the world in the coming weeks that will determine the finalists of the second round of the tournament.

Watch out and keep updated for more Cricket News and Cricket matches here at 11ic.

40 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page