top of page

ICC Women T20 World Cup Winners List (2009 to 2023)

women t20 world cup winners list

Explore the ICC Women T20 World Cup Winners List from 2009 to 2023. Discover the teams, players, and moments that have shaped the decade of women's cricket.

The ICC Women's T20 World Cup is the pinnacle event in women's T20 International cricket, held every two years since 2009. With its fast-paced, action-packed format, the tournament has captured the hearts of fans worldwide and showcased the incredible talent of female cricketers. Throughout its history, the Women's T20 World Cup has provided countless memorable moments, and one of the most intriguing aspects is the ever-evolving landscape of champions.

While Australia stands tall as the most successful team with a phenomenal six titles, other teams like England and West Indies have etched their names onto the prestigious trophy.

Australia's Six T20 World Cup Titles (2010-2023)

Australia truly established themselves as the powerhouse of Women's T20 cricket. They claimed the title an incredible six times between 2010 and 2023. Their journey began with a back-to-back championship run in 2010 and 2012, defeating New Zealand and England in the respective finals. The year 2014 saw another triumph against England. However, they failed to clinch another title in 2016. The team continued their dominance in 2018 and 2020, defeating England and India, respectively. Their most recent win came in 2023, marking a historic three-peat championship. It solidified their position as the most successful team in the tournament's history.

ICC Women T20 World Cup Winners List

2009: England (beat New Zealand by 6 wickets)

The inaugural edition of the ICC Women's T20 World Cup in 2009 saw England triumph over New Zealand in the final at Lord's Cricket Ground in London. Both teams were undefeated in the group stages. Additionally, they defeated Australia on their way to the final.

Despite New Zealand's impressive batting performances throughout the tournament, they were dismissed for just 85 runs in the final. England chased down the target with six wickets and three overs remaining. Claire Taylor of England was named the player of the tournament.

2010: Australia (beat New Zealand by 3 runs)

In the 2010 edition held in the West Indies, New Zealand emerged as a formidable team. They remained undefeated in the group stage, defeating the hosts by 56 runs in the semi-finals. However, Australia ultimately clinched the title due to their superior ability to handle pressure. They secured a super over win against England in the group stages. The Aussies narrowly defeated India by four runs in the semi-final, and emerged victorious in the final by just three runs, despite posting a modest total of 106 runs.

2012: Australia (beat England by 4 runs)

In the 2012 edition held in Sri Lanka, Australia secured a narrow four-run victory over rivals England in the final to clinch the title. Posting a challenging 142/4 on the board, Australia's collective bowling effort, led by Jess Jonassen's three-wicket haul, made them the first team in women's T20 history to successfully defend their World Cup title.

2014: Australia (beat England by 6 wickets)

Australia remains a dominant force in the Women T20 World Cup Winners List. The 2014 tournament in Bangladesh saw them secure their third consecutive title. In the final, they secured a six-wicket victory over England. Alyssa Healy's 62 and Megan Schutt's three wickets were instrumental in their victory. This historic win made Australia the first country to achieve a hat-trick of T20 World Cup titles across both men's and women's events. This solidified their status as a cricketing powerhouse.

2016: West Indies (beat Australia by 8 wickets)

In 2016, West Indies ended Australia's title-winning streak. In the final at Eden Gardens, the defending champions posted a competitive 148/5. However, the West Indian opener Hayley Matthews gave the hosts a strong start with a 66 off 45. Matthews and captain Stafanie Taylor's 120-run opening partnership helped West Indies win by eight wickets. This marked the senior West Indies women's cricket team's first ICC trophy.

2018: Australia (beat England by 8 wickets)

Australia reclaimed the trophy in the 2018 edition hosted by the West Indies. In a repeat of the 2014 final in Bangladesh, Australia restricted England to 105 runs. They chased down the target with eight wickets in hand and 15.1 overs to spare. Alyssa Healy, a standout performer, topped the run charts and was named player of the tournament.

2020: Australia (beat India by 85 runs)

The 2020 edition was held in Australia. The Indian women's cricket team features players like Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, and Harmanpreet Kaur. They reached their first final after their semi-final against England was washed out. India defeated Australia in the group stages and topped their group. However, they faced a challenging final at the MCG. After a thrilling match, Australia secured their fifth World Cup title with an 85-run victory.

2023: Australia (beat South Africa by 19 runs)

Australia secured the eighth spot in the Women's T20 World Cup Winners List. In the 2023 edition, hosts South Africa and Australia advanced to the final with narrow semi-final victories over England and India, respectively. Despite the close contests in the semi-finals, the final outcome was unchanged.  Australia clinched their second hat-trick of titles with a 19-run victory.

Beyond the Champions: Runners-up Stories

While the focus shines brightly on the champions, the runners-up deserve immense recognition for their outstanding performances. Teams like New Zealand, England, and India have displayed consistent strength. They reached the championship stage multiple times. These teams pushed the boundaries of the game and kept the competition interesting. Their pursuit of the coveted trophy continues to add a captivating narrative to the Women T20 World Cup winners list.

Looking Ahead ICC Women T20 World Cup Winners List

The ICC Women T20 World Cup winners list has played a pivotal role in the significant growth and popularity of women's cricket globally. The success of the tournament has opened doors for young players. It inspired aspiring talents and captured the interest of a wider audience. More nations invest in women's cricket and the talent pool continues to expand. From there, we can expect the future of the World Cup to be filled with even more exciting stories, fierce competition, and the emergence of new champions on the world stage.

The ICC has scheduled the Women's T20 World Cup to take place in Bangladesh in 2024. As all teams compete for cricket's most prestigious T20 title, the tournament promises to deliver another round of thrilling cricket action. It will showcase the unwavering passion and exceptional talent of women cricketers from across the globe.

Related Blogs:

Discover the opportunity to learn and earn with 11ic. Don’t wait any longer — join now and experience the benefits of earning while learning on 11ic. For additional updates, predictions, and inquiries about Sports and Casino news, visit 11ic’s 24/7 customer support live chat for more details.

14 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page