top of page

How The Semi-Finalists Will Be Recognized In T20 World Cup 2022

How The Semi-Finalists Will Be Recognized In T20 World Cup 2022 by 11ic Blog

The 2022 ICC T20 World Cup kicked off in Australia on October 16 with the group stage and progressed to the Super 12 on October 21.

Australia are defending champions after lifting their first trophy in 2021. West Indies are the only team to have won the ICC T20 World Cup trophy more than once.

The top eight ranked T20 International teams, as of November 15, 2021, were joined by four qualifying teams to form two Super 12 groups.

Group 1 consisted of New Zealand, England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Ireland and Afghanistan. Group 2 composed of India, South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe and the Netherlands.

Depending on the format and playing conditions of the T20 World Cup, each team will play five matches in the Super 12, in the round-robin format. There are two points for a win and one point for a cancelled game.

After all teams in their group have met once, the top two teams in each group will advance to the semi-finals. If two or more teams are tied in points, the team with the most wins takes the highest place, followed by the Net Run Rate (NRR) if required.

So far, the semi-final dreams of Ireland, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and the Netherlands have officially come to an end. New Zealand are the only team to have qualified for the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup. Defending champions Australia and England from Group 1, as well as India, South Africa, Pakistan and Bangladesh from Group 2 are still alive and can qualify for the semi-finals.

The 2022 T20 World Cup semi-finals will take place on November 9 and 10. The final will take place on November 13.

The 2022 ICC T20 World Cup Semi-Finals are set to be played at two different venues - Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney and Adelaide Oval, Adelaide respectively.

9 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page