top of page



The 2023 Women's T20 World Cup is less than a week away and 10 teams will be competing in the eight edition of the big tournament in South Africa. The 10 teams were divided equally into two groups, with the top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals.

As the host nation, South Africa has qualified for the major competition. They will play Sri Lanka in their opening World Cup match. The top 7 teams in the official ICC Women's T20I rankings up until November 30, 2021, have also automatically qualified to play against the host nation. These teams are the reigning champions Australia, England, 2020 runners-up India, 2016 champions West Indies, New Zealand, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

When does the tournament start?

The first group stage will start on Friday, February 10. The 10 teams were divided into two groups to qualify for the semi-finals on Thursday 23 February and Friday 24 February, with the final scheduled for Sunday 26 February.

Where will be the tournament take place?

The upcoming Women's T20 World Cup will be held in South Africa, where the first Women's Under-19 World Cup was held. Most of the competition, including the semi-finals and final, will take place at Newlands in Cape Town. Along with Newlands, Boland Park in Paarl and St George's Park in Gkeberh will host more matches.

What is the structure of the tournament?

The structure of the competition is the same as in the previous edition. 10 teams are divided into two groups and play one match against their respective group members. The winning team gets two points. The top 2 teams from both groups will then compete in the semi-finals and finals.

The Groups are:

Group A Group B

Sri Lanka West Indies

South Africa Pakistan

New Zealand Ireland

Bangladesh India

Australia England

Who are the favorites in the tournament?

Defending champions and five-time champions Australia are favorites for this year's title. They have formidable fast bowling attach and has depth quality in their batting line-up.

However, England are not far behind and can challenge the Australians. Although they have not won the tournament since the first edition, the team will be looking for a change this year.

India challenged Australia for a gold medal at the Commonwealth Games but Australia prevailed by just nine runs. India also won a match in a super over against the Australians in their recent home series. A win for the U-19s will boost their morale as Shefali Verma and Richa Ghosh join the senior squad for the World Cup.

Where to watch the Live Streaming of Women’s T20 World Cup 2023?

Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 Live Streaming is available at 11ic App and Website.

5 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page