top of page



The Women’s Indian Premier League 2023 also known as Women’s IPL 2023 or WIPL 2023 first season will be played from March 2023, a Twenty20 cricket league which organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

BCCI announced that the WIPL 2023 has been set for March 3 to 26 2023, after the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 and before the men’s IPL 2023 begin.

Women's IPL 2023 buzz: By the end of 2022, the team intends to hold an auction with an open bidding process. At least six of the 10 current IPL franchises have expressed an initial interest in purchasing a WIPL team.

The Women's Indian Premier League's right to own and operate a team was announced by The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on January 3, 2023.

In February 2023, there will be an auction for the Women's IPL. wherein a total of five teams will compete.

The media rights for the Women's IPL's first five-year cycle were awarded to Viacom 18 on January 16, according to BCCI. For the 2023–2027 season, the winning bid of INR 951 crore equates to INR 7.09 crore per game.

Under the plan, the league will be contested by five franchise teams playing a total of 22 games. Each team can have a maximum of 18 players, with a maximum of six foreign players, and each playing XI can have five foreign players - four from full countries and one from an Associate country.

Each team will play the other twice during the league stage of the WIPL (20 total matches), and the team with the best record advances directly to the championship game. The second finalist will be decided by the results of an elimination round between the league's second- and third-place teams.

According to the BCCI, the next step would be to inviting bids for the five franchises. Unlike the men's IPL, where franchises bid for teams in a specific city, the BCCI had two original plans for the WIPL. The first was to sell teams in six zones spread across the country.

The second plan includes teams that have been sold but do not have a stable home venue and will play matches at six selected IPL venues: Mumbai, Kolkata, Delhi, Chennai, Bengaluru and Ahmedabad.

The final part of the process involves team formation and the BCCI is yet to finalize whether it will be done through an auction or a draft. Player availability will continue to be an issue as the WIPL may clash with the first season of the Women's Pakistan Super League (WPSL). While the PCB is yet to release the final plans for the tournament, March 18 is slated to be the date for the WPSL finals.

Keep updated for the Latest Cricket News and Cricket matches here at 11ic.

14 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page