top of page

T20 WORLD CUP 2022: Afghanistan vs Ireland Matched Abandoned Without A Toss

T20 WORLD CUP 2022: Afghanistan vs Ireland Matched Abandoned Without A Toss by 11ic Blog

The Ireland-Afghanistan match was abandoned without a ball at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday, leaving the teams to split the points.

It was Afghanistan's second winless Super 12 after New Zealand's game in Melbourne on Wednesday was abandoned due to bad weather.

The fruitless result left Ireland three points clear of second place in Group 1 behind leaders New Zealand after three games, despite the Black Caps being one game less. Afghanistan remains at the bottom of the table with two points.

The weather could still shape the group, with fifth-placed Australia and fourth-placed England both scheduled with two points apiece late at the MCG.

Skippers of both teams are very disappointed to be not playing at such an amazing ground. Everyone are looking forward to the fixtures and fully prepared but unfortunately did not get to play.

Why is it raining so much in Australia, and how has it affected the T20 World Cup matches?

Afghanistan took their first points of the tournament when the game against New Zealand in Melbourne on Wednesday was suspended without a pitch due to evening rains. Earlier in the day at the MCG, Ireland win by five runs after the Duckworth Lewis method was used against England. On Monday, Zimbabwe and South Africa split the points as the Hobart match was canceled due to rain.

Earlier this year, the Australia’s Bureau of Meteorology predicted above-average rainfall for the start of summer Down Under due to La Niña; the cooling sea surface temperatures in the eastern equatorial region of the central Pacific ocean.

With summer still to come, the effects of the rare weather phenomenon are already visible. Melbourne's average rainfall in October is around 65mm. So far this year, the city has received 120mm.

Afghanistan Squad: Mohammad Nabi(c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Usman Ghani, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mohammad Saleem Safi, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Darwish Rasooli, Qais Ahmad.

Ireland Squad: Andrew Balbirnie(c), Lorcan Tucker(w), Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Curtis Campher, Mark Adair, Fionn Hand, Conor Olphert, Joshua Little, Barry McCarthy, Graham Hume, Simi Singh, Stephen Doheny.

Get the latest Cricket News and Cricket Live scores along with updates of T20 World Cup 2022 here at

16 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page