top of page

IPL History: Who Won Man of the Match Award?

Man of the Match

In cricket competitions, such as the Indian Premier League, the player with the most significant impact on the game and exerts the most pressure on the opposing team is given the Man of the Match award. The match's circumstances and the player's capacity to make an impression on the audience with their exceptional skill display are considered when evaluating their performance. The player who stood out and had the most significant impact during the game receives the Man of the Match award.

Here is the list of Players who have won Most Player of the Match awards in IPL history:

AB de Villiers

Right-handed South African batsman AB de Villiers holds the IPL record for most Man of the Match awards. He won 25 Man of the Match awards for outstanding performances while playing for the Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bangalore. AB amassed 5162 runs and a 39.71 batting average in 170 innings. He was an essential member of Royal Challengers Bangalore, where he and Virat Kohli set numerous records as a team. He made his IPL debut in 2008 with Delhi Capitals against Chennai Super Kings and scored three centuries and forty half-centuries throughout the competition.

Chris Gayle

An all-rounder from the West Indies who bats left-handedly currently holds the second-most IPL Man of the Match awards. While playing in the IPL for groups like Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings, and Royal Challengers Bangalore, he was awarded this title 22 times. His 4965 runs and 39.72 batting average were totaled throughout his 141 innings. Gayle was regarded as one of the IPL's most feared and dominant batters. He played his first game for Kolkata Knight Riders against the Delhi Capitals in 2008, marking his professional debut. He scored 31 half-centuries and six centuries in the IPL during his career.

Rohit Sharma

The Indian captain holds the third-most Man of the Match awards in IPL history. He is the captain of the Mumbai Indians team and has won Man of the Match 18 times in the IPL. Sharma made his IPL debut in 2008 with the Deccan Chargers. Since then, he has played in 221 games and has amassed 5764 runs at an average of 30.66 for both the Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians. He had a poor IPL debut but has developed into an essential member of the Mumbai Indians team.

David Warner

With 18 awards, the Australian left-handed batter is fourth on the list of IPL players who have won Man of the Match most often. He has played for the Sunrisers Hyderabad and the Delhi Capitals, scoring 5668 runs in 155 innings at an average of 41.99, including four hundred and 53 fifty-sixes. He was a key member of Sunrisers Hyderabad and helped the team defeat RCB in the IPL final to win its first title in 2016.

MS Dhoni

With 17 awards, the former captain of India is currently ranked fifth among IPL players who have won Man of the Match honors the most times. While representing the Chennai Super Kings, he won these honors. From when Chennai joined the IPL until 2015, Dhoni served as the team's captain. After Chennai was suspended in 2016, he became the Rising Pune Super Giants captain.

Dhoni was again named the team's captain when Chennai made its IPL comeback in 2018. Dhoni led Chennai until 2021 when Ravindra Jadeja succeeded him. Chennai won the IPL championship four times under Dhoni's leadership in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. After making his IPL debut in 2008 against the Punjab Kings, Dhoni holds the record for playing the most games ever. With an average of 39.66 and 24 fifties, he has scored 4878 runs in 200 innings.

Shane Watson

Shane Watson became the IPL's first-ever Most Valuable Player in 2008 when his team, the Rajasthan Royals, won the league title. Throughout his career, Watson has played for the Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings in addition to continuing to put on impressive IPL performances. Throughout his IPL career, Watson has won 16 Man of the Match awards. He shared the record for the most times ever with Andre Russell in 2013 by receiving the Most Valuable Player award twice that year.

Yusuf Pathan

Throughout the first three seasons of The IPL, Yusuf Pathan emerged as the show's breakout star. While playing for the Rajasthan Royals in 2008, Pathan won the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders bought him in 2011, and it was with this group that he developed into a powerful lower-order batter. Pathan won the IPL twice with KKR in 2012 and 2014, scoring 3204 runs in 174 games. In addition to having a century still regarded as one of the best in IPL history, he also took 42 wickets with his sporadic off-spin. Yusuf Pathan won the Man of the Match honor 16 times during the IPL.

Get the Latest updates of IPL News and IPL Matches only here at 11ic.

4 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page