top of page



What is County Championship?

If you are fan of Cricket competitions, it seems that you are familiar with this, but for those who have no idea about this competition, this article is for you. County Championship is the domestic first-class cricket competition in Wales and England which coordinated by the Cricket Board of England and Wales. It is also called as LV= Insurance County Championship for sponsorship reasons.

Who are the 18 Counties?

County Championship was consists of 18 clubs named after, and promoting historic counties, 17 for England and 1 for Wales. The new competition was started in 1890 season which participated by eight leading clubs: Sussex, Kent, Notthinghamshire, Lancashire, Gloucestershire, Surrey and Yorkshire. Afterwards, the championship has been extended to eighteen clubs and added Essex, Hampshire, Glamorgan, Worcesteshire, Somerset, Northamptonshire, Derbyshire, Warwickshire, Durham and Leicestershire.

When does the 122nd edition started?

The season started on 7th of April and will be ended in the month of September. The 1st seven rounds have been scheduled from Thursday to Sunday in consecutive weeks in the LV=Insurance Test Series contrary to world champions New Zealand.

What is the format of the competition this summer?

ECB or the England and Wales Cricket Board decided to turn back the structure of 2 divisions for the first time since 2019, with 10 teams in Division One and 8 teams in Division Two having two-up, two-down promotion and relegation system. With this, each county will be playing 14 LV= Insurance County Championship games with 7 home matches and 7 away matches.

Who are those counties will play in Division One and Division Two?

Division One

Northamptonshire, Essex, Warwickshire, Hampshire, Kent, Gloucestershire, Surrey, Lancashire, Somerset, Yorkshire.

Division Two

Middlesex, Sussex, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, Glamorgan, Worcestershire, Durham.

In Counties, how are points scored?

Counties need to score 16 points to win and 8 points for a draw. There are also bonus points awarded for scoring wickets and runs.

How many Overseas players can play in each county?

In LV= Insurance County Championship competition, each county can have a maximum of 2 overseas players.

How can I watch and Join to play and earn?

There are plenty of sites who offer live streams of every matches of County Championship 2022 to ensure the viewers and bettors to keep updated in their favorite county team. 11IC website is best recommended platform which Cricket games is in front option. Join now and start playing your favorite Cricket game with higher odds and more rewards offer.

Keep Safe and Play Responsibly!

7 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page