top of page



The most awaited Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023 is just a few days away and the excitement and hype surrounding it could not be more intense. With the upcoming WTC final between the same two teams, the motivation for this series will be greater than first thought.

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy will feature four Test matches in Nagpur on February 9, Delhi on February 17, Dharamsala on March 1 and Ahmedabad on March 9.

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy is the most important series between the two countries because India and Australia have the most intense rivalry in cricket. Two of the greatest Test cricket matches in history, the 2001 Kolkata Test and the 2019 Adelaide Test, were played between the two countries.

Australia and India's test series has a lengthy history. The two teams have a well-known rivalry, which has only intensified over time and under the leadership of numerous outstanding captains from both teams, including Anil Kumble, MS Dhoni, Ricky Ponting, Steve Smith, Steve Waugh, Sourav Ganguly and Virat Kohli.

When India hosts Australia for a four-Test series, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy is just around the corner. The series, which will be a part of WTC, looks to be very exciting.

Why is the India-Australia Test series called the Border-Gavaskar Trophy?

The series of Test cricket games between India and Australia called Border-Gavaskar Trophy since 1996. The names of the series are in honor of two former cricketers from each country, Sunil Gavaskar of India and Allan Border of Australia. Usually played every other year, it is one of the most eagerly awaited Test cricket series in the world.

The series was given their names in recognition of both men's contributions to the game and the cultures of cricket in their respective nations.

For those who don't know, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy is used to determine the winner of the Australia-India Test series. BGT is an unofficial fan-made acronym for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, named after two famous cricketers Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar. India has hosted the Border-Gavaskar Trophy eight times while Australia has hosted it seven times.

Full Squad for the BGT 2023

India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shreyas Iyer, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin,Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.

Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Scott Boland, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Handscomb, Nathan Lyon, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Keep updated for the Latest Cricket News and Cricket Matches only here at 11ic.

9 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page